Ask a pro

Receive advice directly from today’s top stars

Patricio O’Ward

McLaren IndyCar driver

Patricio O’Ward is driver for Arrow McLaren SP in IndyCar and the latest Ask a Pro. The 22-year-old started off in karts in 2005 before going on to race in the Latam Fórmula 2000 championship in Latin America and the French F4 championship. 

In 2017 he made the jump to Indy Lights and in his second season he won the championship with Andretti Autosport in 2018. He made his IndyCar debut with Harding Steinbrenner Racing at the end of 2018, before joining for half the season with Carlin in 2019. Alongside his IndyCar commitments, he raced in Super Formula in Japan and raced in a one-off round in the FIA Formula 2 Championship at the Red Bull Ring after signing as a Red Bull Junior Driver. 
In 2020 he joined Arrow McLaren SP and achieved a top three finish in the championship in 2021, which earned him a test drive of their Formula One car at the end-of-season rookie test at Abu Dhabi. For the 2022 season he continues to race for Arrow McLaren SP alongside LMP2 team Dragon Motorsport in the IMSA SportsCar Championship. 

Previous Q&A Sessions

Josef Newgarden

Andy Lally

Gil de Ferran

Jim Leo

James Hinchcliffe

Jenson Button

Alex Wurz

Dr. Jacques Dallaire

Adrian Fernandez

Alexander Rossi

J.R. Hildebrand

Johnny O’Connell

Brandon Fry

Townsend Bell

Bryan Herta

Bob Varsha

Joey Hand

Tony Kanaan

Jay O’Connell

Mike Hull

Patrick Long

Ben Edwards

Takuma Sato

Michael Krumm

Joe Saward

Sergio Perez

David Brabham

Conor Daly

Simona De Silvestro

Iain Watt

Jack Baldwin

Graham Rahal

Karun Chandhok

Bruno Senna

Derek Bell

Oliver Gavin

Will Power

Will Buxton

Shane Van Gisbergen

Helmut Marko

Nico Hulkenberg

Max Papis

Felipe Massa

Martin Brundle

Allen Berg

Dario Franchitti

Brian Redman

Romain Grosjean

Allan McNish

Aric Almirola

Mattias Ekstrom

Simon Pagenaud

Jean-Eric Vergne

Lance Stroll

Brendon Hartley

José María López

Esteban Gutiérrez

Tiago Monteiro

Paul di Resta

Jeremy Shaw

Juan Pablo Montoya

Pierre Gasly

Scott Dixon

Colton Herta

Dane Cameron

Ross Bentley

George Russell

Tatiana Calderón

Presented by